Practical Design Patterns: Opaque Pointers and Objects in C | Interrupt

I’ve written a lot of C++ in my career, but I still prefer to design in C for most embedded projects (“why” is the subject of a much longer, rant-filled post). I’m not a big proponent of OOP in general, but I do think having an “instance” of something which contains stateful data is a generally useful thing for embedded software. For example, you may want to have several instances of a ring buffer (aka circular FIFO queue) on your system. Each instance contains stateful data, like the current position of read and write pointers. What’s the best way to model this in C?

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://interrupt.memfault.com/blog/opaque-pointers

First, on a technical note, if you were to move the data pointer to the end of the struct and specify it as a flexible array member, you could make a macro to statically allocate instances.

More broadly, however, I just don’t see the benefit of opacity. After having written and used many ‘user protective’ APIs, I find that they hinder developer understanding and debugging far more than they protect from erroneous usage. Providing an API with a well-documented public interface provides all the encapsulation benefits. Users that wish to venture beyond knowingly do so at their own risk, but sometimes that risk is justified. Unless you’re linking against a compiled binary, I think the opacity just gets in the way.

Thanks for the explainer! I’ve used many libraries using this pattern, and finally there is a clear explanation of it. BTW I’m looking forward to that “much longer, rant-filled post” about C++ :slight_smile:

1 Like

There a fatal bug in this code :

ringbuffer_t ringbuffer_create(uint32_t capacity) {
    ringbuffer_t inst = calloc(1, sizeof(struct ringbuffer_instance_t));
    inst->data = calloc(inst->capacity, sizeof(uint8_t));
    inst->capacity = capacity;
    inst->wr_pos = 0;
    inst->rd_pos = 0;